榮譽的塞爾頓·亨德森

ED羅伯茨獎,2019

尊敬的塞爾頓·亨德森法官(Thelton E. Henderson)傑出的職業生涯已經跨越了七十年(到目前為止),並且以他在維護美國社會中某些最邊緣化和最弱勢群體的公民權利方面的成功努力而著稱。

生於美國洛杉磯什里夫波特。亨德森(Henderson)於1950年代來到加州伯克利(UC Berkeley)就讀於加州大學伯克利分校(UC Berkeley),在那裡他獲得了學士學位,並最終獲得了法學博士學位。他成為第一位在美國司法部民權司擔任律師的非裔美國人,並被派往南方,在那裡他調查了各種侵犯民權的行為。亨德森先生正是以此身份與馬丁·路德·金博士和其他為種族正義和解放而奮鬥的領導人直接結識。亨德森先生在他的職業生涯中發揮了許多作用,但他在1980年至2017年擔任聯邦法官時發揮了最大的影響。

老公亨德森以加州猛mm監獄系統的改革者而聞名。鑑於加利福尼亞州(及其他地區)囚犯中殘疾的比例過高,亨德森法官在消除該州監獄中不人道的紀律和醫療行為方面的成就可以正確地描述為殘疾權利領域的成功。亨德森法官通過他主持的訴訟也發揮了重要作用,他明確表示加利福尼亞教育部有責任確保當地學區在向殘疾學生提供教育時遵守聯邦《殘疾人教育法案》標準。 。

老公多年來,亨德森的工作無疑贏得了廣泛的讚譽。但獨立生活中心認為,亨德森法官的一生值得再次承認,這是對他對殘疾權利的貢獻所特有的,因此,我們很榮幸為他頒發2019年埃德·羅伯茨獎,以表彰他所做的一切為殘疾人社區。作為一個自己的殘障人士,更不用說一個在種族隔離的美國長大的黑人了,亨德森法官知道在不平整的運動場上努力取得成功的感覺。我們在獨立生活中心邀請每個人幫助我們慶祝亨德森法官投入的辛勤工作,以平息這個運動場,並使這個國家和世界為每個人提供一個更加公正和公平的環境。

  • The CIL Facebook
  • The CIL Twitter
  • The CIL Instagram
  • The CIL YouTube
  • The CIL Linkedin

埃德·羅伯茨獎由世界上第一個獨立的生活中心TheCIL頒發。

the HONorable THELTON E. HENDERSON

ED ROBERTS AWARD, 2019

The Honorable Judge Thelton E. Henderson’s remarkable career has spanned seven decades (so far, that is) and is distinguished by his successful efforts at championing the civil rights of some of the most marginalized and vulnerable segments of American society.

 

Born in Shreveport, LA, Hon. Henderson came to Berkeley, CA, in the 1950s to study at UC Berkeley, where he received his bachelor’s degree, and eventually his JD. He became the first African American to serve as an attorney with the US Dept. of Justice’s Civil Rights Division and was sent to the South, where he investigated various civil rights abuses.  It was in this capacity that Mr. Henderson became directly acquainted with Dr. Martin Luther King and other leaders struggling for racial justice and liberation. Mr. Henderson has played many roles in his career, but he has made his greatest impacts as federal judge from 1980 until 2017. 

Hon. Henderson is best known for his work as a reformer of California’s mammoth prison system.  Given the disproportionately high incidence of disability among prisoners in California (and elsewhere), Judge Henderson’s accomplishments with respect to eliminating inhumane disciplinary and medical practices in the state’s prisons can rightly be characterized as successes in the field of disability rights.  Judge Henderson has also been instrumental, via litigation over which he presided, in making clear that California’s Department of Education has a responsibility to ensure that local school districts comply with federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act standards when it comes to providing education to students with disabilities.

 

Hon. Henderson has certainly received ample kudos over the years for his work. But the Center for Independent Living feels that Judge Henderson’s lifetime of accomplishment warrants an additional recognition, one that is specific to his contribution to disability rights, and so we are proud to honor him with a 2019 Ed Roberts Award to celebrate all that he has done for the disability community.  As a person with a disability himself, not to mention a Black man who came of age in a racially segregated America, Judge Henderson knows what it’s like to strive to be successful on an unleveled playing field.  We at the Center for Independent Living invite everyone to help us celebrate the years of hard work that Judge Henderson has invested in order to level that playing field and make this country and world a more just and fair environment for everyone. 

home  |   the award   |   the event   |  The Honorees  |  about ed roberts   |   TheCIL.org   |   donate 

  • The CIL Facebook
  • The CIL YouTube
  • The CIL Twitter
  • The CIL Instagram

The Ed Roberts Awards are presented by TheCIL, the first independent living center in the world.

Contact Us: info@thecil.org