杰拉德·巴蒂斯特

終身成就,2019

1979年,杰拉爾德·巴蒂斯特(Gerald Baptiste)加入了當時仍處於起步階段的組織TheCIL,擔任其盲人服務部的同伴顧問。杰拉爾德(Gerald)在阿拉米達縣(Alameda County)擔任少年顧問,直到1964年突然失明。

他花了很多年的時間來了解盲人可用的各種社區資源以及如何利用這些資源。杰拉爾德(Gerald)希望幫助確保其他視障人士獲得有用的信息和指導,以獲取他們保留和增強獨立性所需的現有支持(以及創建新支持)。杰拉爾德(Gerald)就是這樣做的,不久之後,他發現自己正在為該機構協調所有盲人服務。 杰拉爾德(Gerald)對TheCIL的計劃性貢獻很快就超出了盲人社區特有的服務範圍。

例如,杰拉爾德(Gerald)在監督我們的“住宅出入計劃”中發揮了領導作用,該計劃為中低級房主和房客提供房屋改建(例如輪椅坡道和扶手),以使他們的居住環境更通暢,該計劃今天繼續為伯克利人和其他人提供服務。實際上,正是Gerald聘請了Margie Cochran來協調“居住通道計劃”。現在,大約二十年後,瑪吉繼續運行該程序。

設計和提供服務是Gerald在TheCIL的起步方式,但它可能是Gerald對TheCIL和我們所服務的人產生最深遠影響的社區的倡導者和大使。杰拉爾德在TheCIL的職業生涯初期,注意到殘疾人社區的某些部分並未充分納入TheCIL幫助領導的獨立生活運動。杰拉爾德(Gerald)制定並實施了戰略和方法,以更好地與弱勢或邊緣化殘疾人(如老年人和低收入少數群體)建立聯繫,並更有效地鼓勵他們參與基於同伴的服務和系統變革倡導。杰拉爾德的努力為TheCIL開展外展,服務交付和倡導提供了一種相互交叉和具有文化優勢的方式奠定了基礎。

到1989年,杰拉德(Gerald)成為TheCIL的副總監,倡導成為他的主要關注點。杰拉爾德(Gerald)花費了數年的時間在州和國家旅行,以幫助為當時提出的《美國殘疾人法》建立支持,與決策者,社區成員和倡導者們會面,以教育人們關於民權立法對消除對殘疾人的歧視的重要性。 。當他(和許多其他人)努力工作的法案被簽署成為法律時,他就在白宮。 ADA結束後,杰拉爾德繼續大力倡導解決各種殘疾問題,並代表TheCIL領導了努力,為伯克利的跨殘疾社會服務中心,以交通為中心的埃德·羅伯茨校園獲得了支持和資金。

杰拉爾德(Gerald)的情緒與1970年代加入TheCIL時的今天一樣重要。與艾德·羅伯茨(Ed Roberts)和朱迪·休曼(Judy Heumann)等人一樣,杰拉德(Gerald)確實是殘疾人權利和獨立生活領域的先驅,我們為他在灣區及周邊地區的殘疾人社區的數十年服務而感到榮幸。 。

  • The CIL Facebook
  • The CIL Twitter
  • The CIL Instagram
  • The CIL YouTube
  • The CIL Linkedin

埃德·羅伯茨獎由世界上第一個獨立的生活中心TheCIL頒發。

GERALD BAPTISTE

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT, 2019

In 1979, Gerald Baptiste joined TheCIL, still a fledgling organization at the time, as a peer counselor with its Blind Services Department.  Gerald was working as juvenile counselor for the Alameda County until he lost his sight rather suddenly in 1964.

 

It had taken him years to learn about the various community resources available to blind folks and how to take advantage of such resources.  Gerald wanted to help ensure that other visually impaired people received useful information and guidance about accessing the existing supports (and creating new supports) that they needed to retain and increase their independence.  And Gerald did just that, and before long he found himself coordinating all blind services for the agency.  Gerald's programmatic contributions to TheCIL soon expanded beyond services specific to the blind community.

 For example, Gerald took a leading role in overseeing our Residential Access Program, which provides low-to-moderate homeowners and renters with home modifications (such as wheelchair ramps and grab bars) to render their living environments more accessible and which is a program that continues to serve Berkeleyites and others today. In fact, it was Gerald who hired Margie Cochran to coordinate the Residential Access Program. And now, some twenty years later, Margie continues to run the program.

 

Designing and delivering services is how Gerald got his start at TheCIL, but it may have been as an advocate and as an ambassador to the community where Gerald had his most profound impact on TheCIL and those we serve.  Early in his career at TheCIL, Gerald noticed that some segments of the disability community were not adequately included in the Independent Living Movement that TheCIL was helping to lead. Gerald developed and implemented strategies and approaches to better outreach to particularly disadvantaged or marginalized people with disabilities, such as the elderly and lower-income minorities, and to more effectively encourage them to get involved in peer-based services and systems change advocacy.  Gerald's efforts laid the groundwork for the intersectional and culturally competent manner in which TheCIL approaches outreach, service delivery, and advocacy.

 

By 1989, Gerald had become TheCIL's Deputy Director, and advocacy became his primary focus.  Gerald spent years traveling the State and the nation to help build support for the then-proposed Americans with Disabilities Act, meeting with policymakers and community members and fellow advocates to educate people about the importance of civil rights legislation to help end discrimination against those with disabilities.  He was present at the White House when the bill that he (and many others) had worked so hard for was signed into law. Post-ADA, Gerald continued to advocate strongly on various disability issues, and on behalf of TheCIL, he led efforts to secure support and funding for the Ed Roberts Campus, Berkeley's transit-oriented hub for cross-disability social services.

 

Gerald's sentiments are as relevant today as they were when he joined TheCIL back in the 1970s. Along with people such as Ed Roberts and Judy Heumann, Gerald is truly a pioneer in the field of disability rights and independent living, and we are thrilled to be honoring him for his decades of service to the disability community here in the Bay Area and beyond.

home  |   the award   |   the event   |  The Honorees  |  about ed roberts   |   TheCIL.org   |   donate 

  • The CIL Facebook
  • The CIL YouTube
  • The CIL Twitter
  • The CIL Instagram

The Ed Roberts Awards are presented by TheCIL, the first independent living center in the world.

Contact Us: info@thecil.org