雷蒙德·利夫切斯

ED羅伯茨獎,2018

Raymond Lifchez是加州大學伯克利分校的建築,城市和區域規劃教授,並在加州大學伯克利分校的殘疾人研究本科課程中任職。

Lifchez自1967年以來一直是建築師,1970年以城市和區域規劃系研究生的身份來到加州大學伯克利分校。他在紐約市與老年人打交道的建築經驗使他特別認識並關注他在伯克利大街和校園見到並結識的殘疾人,當愛德·羅伯茨和其他殘疾學生開始出現在加州大學伯克利分校校園時, 1970年代和80年代。當Lifchez在1972年開始為建築學系教授設計時,他為本科生建立了一個建築設計工作室,他的學生將可訪問性融入了他們所有的設計中。

殘疾人(其中一些是Cal的學生)以模擬客戶的身份加入班級,並指導學生設計切實可行的解決方案,以解決建築環境中存在的許多障礙。這是最早提供此類課程的建築學校之一。這個突破性的課程記錄在布魯斯·巴塞特(Bruce Bassett)的視頻“一個與我不同的人的房子”中,該視頻由國家無障礙環境適應中心於1984年製作。

1979年,Lifchez和共同老師Barbara Winslow出版了一本具有開創性的書,《為獨立生活設計:環境和肢體殘障人士》,該書描述了課堂經驗,並將殘疾問題納入了建築教育的主流。該解決方案滿足了殘障人士的需求以及如何設計環境以使其盡可能獨立生活,因此入圍了1980年國家圖書獎。這本書是從他們的角度進行設計的第一個嚴肅嘗試。

Ray還寫了許多其他出版物,涉及無障礙設計,建築的社會歷史和建築設計教育學。重新思考建築:設計專業的學生和肢體殘障人士(1987年),研究了對殘障人士的需求和挑戰敏感的建築學創新性和啟發性實驗。

1983年,雷與殘疾政策分析師Gerben DeJong一起在1983年6月的《科學美國人》雜誌上發表了極具影響力的文章“身體殘疾與公共政策”。這是主流雜誌上的第一篇主要文章,為通用設計提供了有力的依據,並描述了伯克利(大學和城市)的轉型,這是由於殘疾學生與大學合作(如雷·利夫切斯(Ray Lifchez)等教授)的結果。該城市的公民身份以及獨立生活中心的領導。

雷還是伯克利獎(伯克利獎)的創始人和總監,伯克利獎是一項著名的國際論文競賽,邀請本科建築專業的學生探索設計在全球社會,文化和心理生活中發揮重要作用的方式。 2009年,伯克利獎獲得了美國建築師協會的合作成就獎。 2013年,論文競賽的主題是“建築師與無障礙城市”,來自27個國家的150名學生參加了競賽。

  • The CIL Facebook
  • The CIL Twitter
  • The CIL Instagram
  • The CIL YouTube
  • The CIL Linkedin

埃德·羅伯茨獎由世界上第一個獨立的生活中心TheCIL頒發。

RAYMOND LIFCHEZ

ED ROBERTS AWARD, 2018

Raymond Lifchez is a professor of architecture and city and regional planning at UC Berkeley and serves on the UC Berkeley Undergraduate Program in Disability Studies. 

Lifchez, an architect since 1967, came to UC Berkeley in 1970 as a graduate student in the Department of City and Regional Planning. His architectural experience in New York City working with the elderly made him especially aware and attentive to the people with disabilities he saw and befriended on Berkeley streets and the campus, when Ed Roberts and other disabled students began to appear on the UC Berkeley campus in the 1970s and '80s.When Lifchez began to teach design for the Department of Architecture in 1972 he developed an architecture design studio for undergraduates in which his students integrated accessibility into all of their designs.

People with disabilities, some of whom were students at Cal, joined the class as mock clients and guided the students in the design of practical and effective solutions to the many barriers that exist in the built environment. This was one of the first architectural schools to offer such a course. This groundbreaking class was documented in a video, “A House for Someone Unlike Me,” by Bruce Bassett and produced by the National Center for a Barrier Free Environment’s Adaptive Environments Center in 1984.

In 1979 Lifchez and co-teacher Barbara Winslow published a seminal book, Design for Independent Living: The Environment and Physically Disabled People, which described the class experience and introduced the subject of disability into the mainstream of architecture education. Addressing the needs of the physically disabled and how the environment could be designed so they could live as independently as possible, it was a finalist for the 1980 National Book Awards. This book was the first serious attempt to design from their perspective.

Ray has also written numerous other publications on accessible design, the social history of architecture, and architectural design pedagogy. Rethinking Architecture: Design Students and Physically Disabled People (1987), examines this innovative and provocative experiment in architectural education that was sensitive to the needs and challenges of the disabled.

In 1983 Ray joined with disability policy analyst Gerben DeJong to author the highly influential article, “Physical Disability and Public Policy,” in the June 1983 issue of Scientific American. This was the first major article in a mainstream journal to make a strong case for universal design and describe the transformation of Berkeley (the University and the City) as a result of disabled students working with the University, professors such as Ray Lifchez, the supportive citizenry of that city, and the leadership of the Center for Independent Living.

Ray is also the founder and director of the the Berkeley Prize, a renowned international essay competition inviting undergraduate architecture students to explore the ways that design plays a major role in global social, cultural and psychological life. In 2009 the Berkeley Prize was awarded the American Institute of Architects Collaborative Achievement Award. In 2013 the subject of the essay competition was “The Architect and the Accessible City,” to which 150 students from 27 countries replied.

home  |   the award   |   the event   |  The Honorees  |  about ed roberts   |   TheCIL.org   |   donate 

  • The CIL Facebook
  • The CIL YouTube
  • The CIL Twitter
  • The CIL Instagram

The Ed Roberts Awards are presented by TheCIL, the first independent living center in the world.

Contact Us: info@thecil.org