佐納·羅伯茨(ZONA ROBERTS)

終身成就,2018

CIL非常榮幸地向Zona Roberts表示感謝,感謝她在過去的五十年中作為獨立生活/公民權利運動的領導人,與數百名與她見面,進食,諮詢和工作過的年輕人的傑出支持和鼓勵。殘疾。

佐納(Zona)是埃德·羅伯茨(Ed Roberts)的母親。因此,她鼓勵的第一個年輕的殘疾人是她的兒子,他的兒子在1953年患了脊髓灰質炎。從來沒有人容忍某人無所事事,佐納(Zona)鼓勵埃德(Ed)運用自己的才智實現自己的生活目標,並儘力幫助他。埃德(Ed)被加州大學伯克利分校(UC-Berkeley)錄取,他和他的鐵肺被安置在大學醫院。此後,Zona計劃搬到這座城市,夢想著她和她的三個小兒子也可能去加州大學伯克利分校。

多年來,她的兩個兒子確實去了加州,佐納(Zona)從肯尼迪大學(John F. Kennedy University)獲得了心理諮詢碩士學位。那時,埃德(Ed)在UC-B創立了肢體殘疾學生計劃,此後,與其他殘疾領導者一起建立了獨立生活中心。在那些年裡,佐納在沃德街的房子是愛德(Ed)的第二套房(他在伯克利擁有自己的位置,並且是完全獨立的),也是無家可歸的年輕人湧入的最喜歡的家外之家伯克利將從州的個人援助福利計劃和CIL中受益。那時,她在CIL擔任顧問,並在業餘時間與成年人和殘疾兒童的父母一起工作。她與埃德(Ed)一起旅行,在美國和國際上的許多會議上發表演講,並積極參與了在伯克利建立埃德·羅伯茨(Ed Roberts)校園的活動。她最激動的時刻之一是與Barbara Lee代表一起歡迎公眾歡迎2012年埃德·羅伯茨校園的開放。

  • The CIL Facebook
  • The CIL Twitter
  • The CIL Instagram
  • The CIL YouTube
  • The CIL Linkedin

埃德·羅伯茨獎由世界上第一個獨立的生活中心TheCIL頒發。

ZONA ROBERTS

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT, 2018

The CIL is pleased to honor Zona Roberts for her extraordinary support and encouragement of hundreds of young people with disabilities whom she met, fed, counseled and worked with over the past five decades as a leader of the Independent Living/Civil Rights Movement of People with Disabilities.

Zona is the mother of Ed Roberts.  So, the first young disabled person she encouraged was her son who had contracted polio in 1953. Never one to tolerate someone doing nothing, Zona encouraged Ed to use his intellect to achieve his life goals, and helped him where she could.  Ed was accepted at UC-Berkeley and he and his iron lung were housed in the University hospital.  After that, Zona made plans to move to the city with the dream that she and her three younger sons might also go to University of California, Berkeley.

Over the years, two of her sons did go to Cal and Zona gained a MA in psychological counseling from John F. Kennedy University.  By that time Ed was founding the Physically Disabled Students Program at UC-B and, after that, working with other disability leaders to start the Center for Independent Living.   During those years, Zona's house on Ward Street was a second home for Ed (he had his own place in Berkeley and was totally independent) and a favorite home-away-from-home for an endless wave of  young people with disabilities who arrived in Berkeley to benefit from the State's personal assistance benefit program and CIL. By then, she was working as a counselor at CIL and, in her spare time, with adults and parents of children with disabilities.  She traveled extensively with Ed, spoke at many conferences in the US and internationally and was actively involved in the campaign to build the Ed Roberts Campus in Berkeley.  One of her proudest moments was joining Representative Barbara Lee welcoming the public to the opening of the Ed Roberts Campus in 2012. 

home  |   the award   |   the event   |  The Honorees  |  about ed roberts   |   TheCIL.org   |   donate 

  • The CIL Facebook
  • The CIL YouTube
  • The CIL Twitter
  • The CIL Instagram

The Ed Roberts Awards are presented by TheCIL, the first independent living center in the world.

Contact Us: info@thecil.org