泰德·迪芬斯

特別承認,2019年

作為2019年Ed Roberts日慶典的一部分,TheCIL將向Ted Dienstfrey頒發特別表彰獎,以表彰他對TheCIL和對灣區獨立生活的貢獻。

Ted Dienstfrey在獲得芝加哥大學的學士學位並在美國國務院擔任外事服務官後,於1960年代初移居伯克利,在UC Berkeley攻讀城市規劃碩士學位。泰德(Ted)和他的妻子帕特里夏(Patricia)倡導社會正義,對當時遍布伯克利(無論是城市還是校園)的激進主義精神表示讚賞,正是在這裡,他們決定在此建立自己的事業並養育自己的家庭,現在包括三個孩子和七個孫子。

泰德(Ted)的專業工作一直圍繞著社區發展,他曾擔任舊金山市長住房辦公室的主任以及格森·巴卡爾基金會(Gerson Bakar Foundation)的長期計劃官員。他協助從Barbara Bakar Shupin莊園獲得TheCIL的主要捐贈。但是Ted的董事會服務是他最深刻地影響殘疾人權利和殘疾人社區可用資源的主要手段。從2010年到2015年,Ted擔任TheCIL董事會成員和財務委員會成員。鑑於他的業務和財務敏銳度,Ted領導了TheCIL捐贈基金的建立和發展,包括在Telegraph Avenue上出售我們財產的過程。他在籌款和投資領域的知識和辛勤工作是TheCIL當前享有財務穩定的主要因素。

除了擔任TheCIL董事會成員外,Ted還擔任TheCIL / Haas基金會(他幫助創建的實體,為便利TheCIL將其總部遷至Ed Roberts校園所需的資金)發揮了作用。目前,他是埃德·羅伯茨校園董事會以及計算機技術計劃(Computer Technologies Program)的董事會成員,該計劃是一個非營利性的職業培訓組織,該組織向殘疾求職者傳授在當今的就業市場上成功所需的技能。 CIL感謝Ted多年來為在殘疾人生活中創造和促進機會而所做的一切。

  • The CIL Facebook
  • The CIL Twitter
  • The CIL Instagram
  • The CIL YouTube
  • The CIL Linkedin

埃德·羅伯茨獎由世界上第一個獨立的生活中心TheCIL頒發。

TED DIENSTFREY

SPECIAL RECOGNITION, 2019

As part of the 2019 Ed Roberts Day Celebration, TheCIL will be presenting Ted Dienstfrey with a Special Recognition Award to honor his contributions to TheCIL and to independent living in the Bay Area.

 

After earning his bachelor's degree from the University of Chicago and serving as a Foreign Service Officer with the US Department of State, Ted Dienstfrey moved to Berkeley in the early 1960s to pursue his master's degree in city planning at UC Berkeley.  Ted and his wife, Patricia, social justice advocates themselves, appreciated the activist spirit that pervaded Berkeley (the city as well as the campus) at the time, and it was here that they decided to establish their careers and raise their family, which now includes three children and seven grandchildren.

‚Äč

Ted's professional work has always revolved around community development, and he has served as the director of the San Francisco Mayor's Office of Housing and as the long-time Program Officer for the Gerson Bakar Foundation.  He was instrumental in obtaining a major endowment grant for TheCIL from the Barbara Bakar Shupin Estate. But Ted's board service is primary the means by which he has most profoundly impacted disability rights and the resources available to the disability community.  From 2010-2015, Ted served as a member of TheCIL's board of directors and on the finance committee . Given his business and financial acumen, Ted took the lead in establishing and growing TheCIL's endowment, including the process of selling our property on Telegraph Avenue.  His knowledge and hard work in the areas of fundraising and investing are major factors in the financial stability that TheCIL currently enjoys.

 

In addition to serving on TheCIL's board, Ted has also served on the board of TheCIL/Haas Foundation (the entity which he helped create that was instrumental in facilitating the funding needed for TheCIL to move its headquarters to the Ed Roberts Campus), and he currently serves on the Ed Roberts Campus board as well as the board of Computer Technologies Program, a not-for-profit vocational training organization that teaches jobseekers with disabilities the skills they need to succeed in today's employment market.  TheCIL is grateful to Ted for all that he has done over the years to create and promote opportunities in the lives of people with disabilities.

home  |   the award   |   the event   |  The Honorees  |  about ed roberts   |   TheCIL.org   |   donate 

  • The CIL Facebook
  • The CIL YouTube
  • The CIL Twitter
  • The CIL Instagram

The Ed Roberts Awards are presented by TheCIL, the first independent living center in the world.

Contact Us: info@thecil.org